- Open your envelope or read your mail piece?
- Seriously consider your proposition?
- Accept your offer?
- Take the steps necessary to follow through on that impulse – i.e., stop what I’m doing and call your toll-free number, or visit your web site?
Whether you are selling fitness equipment or complex technological systems, the copy has to make absolutely clear what the product or service will do for the consumer.
- Will it make me smarter?
- Will it make me money?
- Will it save me money?
- Will it save me time?
- Will it help me get ahead at work?
- Will it make me more attractive?
- Will it make people like me?
- Will it impress other people?
- Will it give me more control?
- Will it protect me from harm?
- Will it make me feel good about buying or using it?
Please remember that potential customers are interested in the personal benefits they’ll receive from using or owning your product. And chances are, the things they’d like it to do for them are somewhere on the list above.
If you can’t make them smarter, richer, more attractive, more powerful, or more productive… or if you can’t make their lives easier, more enjoyable, more rewarding, or more fun – consumers would just as soon give their money to someone else who can.
Continue the Conversation: FNBR can be reached Toll Free at 1-888-988-8148 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
In an ideal world, the answer to the above question would be never. In reality, all direct mail campaigns will get tired at some point. However before you scrap your current mailing campaign and design a new one, you should consider the following:
A common direct mail marketing myth is that unless a mailing gets a 2% response, it’s a failure. The truth is response rate alone does not tell the whole story.
Let’s say you’re selling a $2,000 water purification system and your profit margin is 40% on each unit sold ($800 gross profit per unit sold). You mail 1,000 postcards with a total marketing investment of $525.00 which includes the printing, postage and mailing services.* From your mailing you get 3 orders. If you only look at the response rate, you might consider this mailing a failure because the response rate was 0.3%.
However, if your look at your Return on Investment (ROI) you’ll see an entirely different picture. With marketing, it’s a good idea to calculate your ROI based on your gross profit, not your gross revenue. Let’s take a look at the ROI and see why…
The ROI formula is your Gross Profit minus your Marketing Investment divided by your Marketing Investment = ROI. ROI is normally expressed as a percentage so multiply your result by 100 to convert to a percentage.
Gross Profit: $2,400.00 (3 orders at $800.00 gross profit per order)
Marketing Investment: $525.00
Your Marketing ROI: 357%
As this example shows, response rate alone does not tell you whether your mailing was a success or not. By also tracking your ROI you’ll be able to make more informed marketing decisions.
Continue the Conversation
Call FNBR Inc. at 888-988-8148 or send us an email at email@example.com
*Based on digitally printing a 5.5” x 8.5” postcard, with data supplied by client and mailing Standard Mail (postage rates as of 4/17/11).